Author Topic: Odometer Information from OBDII  (Read 8558 times)

jhu1

• View Profile
Odometer Information from OBDII
« on: July 26, 2010, 08:09:39 PM »
Hello, I am a newbie and am interested in trying to figure out how to get odometer information from the OBDII port.  I am working on a Masters project for something I am designing.  This doesn't have to actually be built, but it should be rooted in reality. 
I have searched and seen that people haven't been able to get the odometer information out of the device.  I am somewhat surprised.  I see that the "Distance traveled with malfunction indicator lamp (MIL) on" is available and the "Distance traveled since codes cleared" is available.  I am surprised with all the software available for the OBDLink Scan Tool that someone hasn't derived that function.  This device is great because it datalogs through a USB cable. 
I've researched the ScanGaugeII and it is supposed to give you odometer functions.  There is no datalogging or output to pc capability I believe.  I called their tech support and they said that if you don't reset the machine you can have the mileage  continue forever (until the hex limit runs out).
I don't need the current odometer reading.  I just need the distance traveled from the time the OBDII device is plugged in.  Software can take care of the rest.  Any software gurus want to try their hand. 
« Last Edit: July 26, 2010, 08:17:44 PM by jhu1 »

Chris Pearson

• View Profile
Re: Odometer Information from OBDII
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2010, 10:19:56 AM »
Hi jhu1,

Our ScanTool.net offerings are designed to access Generic OBD-II Parameter IDs (PIDs). Generally, vehicle odometer information is not a Generic PID. GM vehicles using ScanXL with the enhanced GM package would, however, be capable of accesing this information. This is one of the reasons you've found such a lack of information out there.