Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 19, 2014, 10:00:58 AM
Home Help Search Login Register
News: OBDLink MX officially launched.

ScanTool.net Forum  |  Hardware  |  OBDLink SX  |  Topic: Problems connecting to saturn « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Problems connecting to saturn  (Read 1085 times)
rump_roaster
Newbie
*
Posts: 5


View Profile
« on: July 22, 2011, 08:14:44 AM »



    * Which scan tool are you using? OBD sx

    * Connection type (serial port, USB, Bluetooth)? USB

    * What is the operating system? Specify whether it is 32 or 64 bit Windows 7 32 bit

    * What is the year, make, model, and country where the vehicle was purchased in, new? 2001, saturn sc2 USA

    * If known, what is the engine type (gasoline or diesel, number of cylinders, displacement). 1.9l dohc gasoline

    * Which software are you using (name + version)? Latest OBDwiz AND easyOBD II

    * Describe the problem in detail:can not get sx to consistently connect.

Any ideas?
     
« Last Edit: July 23, 2011, 04:34:37 PM by rump_roaster » Logged
Kaycie
Veteran
*****
Posts: 859


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2011, 10:49:42 AM »

When you try to connect through OBDwiz, are you using the auto detect button? If so do you notice the COM port number changing?

Also try using FTClean (found on your install CD) to uninstall and reinstall the drivers.

Logged
rump_roaster
Newbie
*
Posts: 5


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2011, 05:03:04 PM »

When I chose auto detect button it remains on com 3 - the correct port I think.

I Tried the FTclean but it did not fix my problem.

When the car and usb link up the light turns green. I have gotten to connect two or three times now, but it's not repeatable. obdwiz will say in the "connecting" box "Index was outside the bounds of the array?"

or "the given key was not present in the dictionary"

Opening communications: COM3, 115200
Port Open
Flushing communications buffer
?: [?]
ATZ: [ELM327 v1.3a]
Interface connected
ATE0: [ATE0
OK]
ATL0: [OK]
STI: [STN1130 v2.1.1]
ATRV: [15.3V]

Trying Protocol: SAE J1850 PWM (41.6 Kbaud)
ATSP 1: [OK]
01 00: [NO DATA]

Trying Protocol: SAE J1850 VPW (10.4 Kbaud)
ATSP 2: [OK]
01 00: [41 00 BE 3E F8 10 ]
Protocol detected: SAE J1850 VPW (10.4 Kbaud)

Detected PIDs:

The given key was not present in the dictionary.
The given key was not present in the dictionary.

Opening communications: COM3, 115200
Error opening com port
Opening communications: COM3, 115200
Port Open
Flushing communications buffer
?: [?
?]
ATZ: [ATZ


ELM327 v1.3a]
Interface connected
ATE0: [ATE0
OK]
ATL0: [OK]
STI: [STN1130 v2.1.1]
ATRV: [15.3V]

Trying Protocol: SAE J1850 VPW (10.4 Kbaud)
ATSP 2: [OK]
01 00: [BUS ERROR]
01 00: [41 00 BE 3E F8 10 ]
Protocol detected: SAE J1850 VPW (10.4 Kbaud)

Detected PIDs:

The given key was not present in the dictionary.





I have both the green lights for the interface and the ecu, and sometimes it connects

Logged
rump_roaster
Newbie
*
Posts: 5


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2011, 11:44:00 AM »

I hope I can get more support than this for my new product. What information can I include that would help in solving my problem?
Logged
Kaycie
Veteran
*****
Posts: 859


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2011, 11:09:01 AM »

I just wanted to let you know that I am working with the developer of OBDwiz to see what may be causing this.

Thank you for your patience.
Logged
mjo151
Software Developers
Sr. Member
*
Posts: 286



View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: July 25, 2011, 04:19:24 PM »

Based on the log, OBDwiz is never turning the headers on and never sending "01 00" to the vehicle after detecting the protocol. The only way that this could be possible is if the serial port connection is dropped immediately after the protocol search (line in the log that reads "Protocol detected: SAE J1850 VPW (10.4 Kbaud)"). I am not sure what could cause the connection to suddenly close. Is the engine running when you try to connect? If so, can you try with the ignition on but the engine not running?  Have you tried any other vehicles?

Matt
Logged

rump_roaster
Newbie
*
Posts: 5


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2011, 01:11:12 PM »

When connection the ignition is set to :"run" but the motor isn't running.

I've first tried turning the vehicle to run, connecting the sx and waiting for the green light, then opening easyobd with this result: "protcol detected sae  J1850 10.4kbaud - index was outside the bounds of the array

RAW: Opening communications: COM3, 115200
Port Open
Flushing communications buffer
?: [?
?]
ATZ: [ATZ


ELM327 v1.3a]
Interface connected
ATE0: [ATE0
OK]
ATL0: [OK]
STI: [STN1130 v2.1.1]
ATRV: [12.3V]

Trying Protocol: SAE J1850 PWM (41.6 Kbaud)
ATSP 1: [OK]
01 00: [NO DATA]

Trying Protocol: SAE J1850 VPW (10.4 Kbaud)
ATSP 2: [OK]
01 00: [41 00 BE 3E F8 10 ]
Protocol detected: SAE J1850 VPW (10.4 Kbaud)

Detected PIDs:

The given key was not present in the dictionary.
The given key was not present in the dictionary.
The given key was not present in the dictionary.
The given key was not present in the dictionary.
The given key was not present in the dictionary.
The given key was not present in the dictionary.
The given key was not present in the dictionary.
The given key was not present in the dictionary.
The given key was not present in the dictionary.
The given key was not present in the dictionary.
The given key was not present in the dictionary.
The given key was not present in the dictionary.
The given key was not present in the dictionary.
The given key was not present in the dictionary.
The given key was not present in the dictionary.
The given key was not present in the dictionary.
The given key was not present in the dictionary.
The



If I leave the sx connected and easy obd open, I can turn the car to off and then "runn" and get this resullt:
Opening communications: COM3, 115200
Port Open
Flushing communications buffer
?: [?
?]
ATZ: [ATZ


ELM327 v1.3a]
Interface connected
ATE0: [ATE0
OK]
ATL0: [OK]
STI: [STN1130 v2.1.1]
ATRV: [12.3V]

Trying Protocol: SAE J1850 PWM (41.6 Kbaud)
ATSP 1: [OK]
01 00: [NO DATA]

Trying Protocol: SAE J1850 VPW (10.4 Kbaud)
ATSP 2: [OK]
01 00: [41 00 BE 3E F8 10 ]
Protocol detected: SAE J1850 VPW (10.4 Kbaud)

Detected PIDs:

The given key was not present in the dictionary.



With the car running I get this info

Opening communications: COM3, 115200
Port Open
Flushing communications buffer
?: [?]
ATZ: [ELM327 v1.3a]
Interface connected
ATE0: [ATE0
OK]
ATL0: [OK]
STI: [STN1130 v2.1.1]
ATRV: [15.3V]

Trying Protocol: SAE J1850 PWM (41.6 Kbaud)
ATSP 1: [OK]
01 00: [BUS ERROR]
01 00: [BUS ERROR]
01 00: [NO DATA]

Trying Protocol: SAE J1850 VPW (10.4 Kbaud)
ATSP 2: [OK]
01 00: [41 00 BE 3E F8 10 ]
Protocol detected: SAE J1850 VPW (10.4 Kbaud)

Detected PIDs:

The given key was not present in the dictionary.
The given key was not present in the dictionary.
The given key was not present in the dictionary.
The given key was not present in the dictionary.
The given key was not present in the dictionary.
The given key was not present in the dictionary.
The given key was not present in the dictionary.
The given key was not present in the dictionary.
The given key was not present in the dictionary.
The given key was not present in the dictionary.
The given key was not present in the dictionary.
The given key was not present in the dictionary.
The given key was not present in the dictionary.
The given key was not present in the dictionary.
The given key was not present in the dictionary.
The given key was not present in the dictionary.




I have tried the device on a 2004 dodge durango with no problems
« Last Edit: August 14, 2011, 01:15:01 PM by rump_roaster » Logged
rump_roaster
Newbie
*
Posts: 5


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: September 18, 2011, 11:10:10 AM »

Do you have any record of problems with my model car? I was also using windows 7, but the sx was recognized, and worked fine in the dodge. I need to get this working before my rebuild  Undecided . Again, once in a blue moon the device connects... do I need to be looking at replacing the pcm or look for shorts?
Logged
Vitaliy
ScanTool.net Staff
Veteran
*
Posts: 2243

Forum Cop


View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: September 19, 2011, 09:07:29 PM »

Your car is not on the list of exceptions or known bugs. The log has a couple of strange things in it. Matt noticed that the headers are off. Also, with the engine running, the system voltage is unusually high -- 15.3V.

Let's try to get to the bottom of the problem by sending the commands manually. You can use STNTerm (on the installation CD), or any other terminal configured for 115kbit (be sure it appends line ends to incoming line feeds).

Send the following commands:

ATZ
ATRV
ATH1
ATSP 00
0100
ATDP
ATSP2
0100
0105
010C
011C

Then select all/copy/paste here.

Vitaliy
Logged

Need to decode a diagnostic trouble code? Try DTCSearch.com
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
ScanTool.net Forum  |  Hardware  |  OBDLink SX  |  Topic: Problems connecting to saturn « previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.8 | SMF © 2006-2008, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!