Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 23, 2014, 08:11:05 AM
Home Help Search Login Register
News: OBDLink MX officially launched.

ScanTool.net Forum  |  Hardware  |  OBDLink SX  |  Topic: OBDLink SX will not connect - ever! « previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 Go Down Print
Author Topic: OBDLink SX will not connect - ever!  (Read 2177 times)
user_unknown
Newbie
*
Posts: 10


View Profile
« on: October 20, 2011, 09:37:37 AM »

 Huh


I purchased an OBDLink SX this week to make use of the new features the STN111x firmware brings over the std ELM series.

The problem is the SX will not, and I repeat WILL NOT connect to the vehicle at all.

I've used OBD scanners for years and am quite adept at making them work, even rewiring connectors to access the various pin-out's on the DLC's on various makes of cars.

The SX connects to multiple PC's without issue.. the Orange LED illuminates indicating the presence of drivers (even though I too got the wrong instructions telling me to look for a Blue LED), I soon saw past that error.

Device manager shows everything as being correct.

Terminal programs and various other software's all talk to the SX and identify it as being on Comm 4.

The problem is when it's plugged into a vehicle, nothing!

It's as though the car may as well not be there at all.

However doing a direct side-by-side comparison with an old ELM scanner, this connects right away without a problem at all.

The DLC provides J1850 PWM across pins 2 and 10 and also has a CAN Link across pins 6 and 14.

In this case the OBD is issued over the J1850 protocol.

I have tried the SX now with all the provided Scantool software and 3rd party offerings from Palmer and various others OBD2 spy, Freescan, OBD master etc.. non of which can get it to talk to the host vehicle.

The older ELM scan works flawlessly.



Which scan tool are you using? OBDLink SX
Connection type (serial port, USB, Bluetooth)? USB - Comm 4 - verified connected
What is the operating system? Specify whether it is 32 or 64 bit 32-but but tested with both
What is the year, make, model, and country where the vehicle was purchased in, new? 2003 Aston Martin V12 GT, UK
If known, what is the engine type (gasoline or diesel, number of cylinders, displacement). Petrol, 12, 6000cc
Which software are you using (name + version)? Essentially tried lot's and everything on the supplied CD.
Describe the problem in detail: ECU not found

Exact text of any error messages you received.

>0100
0100
SEARCHING
UNABLE TO CONNECT


when I set the protocol to J1850 PWM

>ATDP
ATDP
SAE J1850 PWM

>0100
0100
FB ERROR



Misc codes sent / received from SX

ATZ
ATZ

ELM327 v1.3a

>ATI
ATI
ELM327 v1.3a

>AT@1
AT@1
SCANTOOL.NET LLC

>ATSP 00
ATSP 00
OK

>ATDP
ATDP
AUTO

>0100
0100
SEARCHING
UNABLE TO CONNECT



and finally just to be clear, the older ELM327 v 1.0 I have connect 100% every time without fail and produces feedback from both ECU's

Logged
user_unknown
Newbie
*
Posts: 10


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2011, 09:41:02 AM »

Just thought I would add...

I ave also ran several 0100 commands in series to try and spark life, but nothing.

Logged
Vitaliy
ScanTool.net Staff
Veteran
*
Posts: 2243

Forum Cop


View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2011, 12:45:17 PM »

Sorry for the inconvenience. Rest assured that we will get to the bottom of this, and make it right for you.

Can you do the same test w/ the old ElmScan?

ATZ
ATRV
ATSP 0
0100
010C
011C
ATDP
ATDPN

Then do this test with OBDLink SX, except instead of "ATSP x" use the actual protocol number you get from ATDPN (say, it reports '3' -- so you would enter ATSP 3):

ATZ
ATRV
ATSP x
0100
010C

Vitaliy
Logged

Need to decode a diagnostic trouble code? Try DTCSearch.com
user_unknown
Newbie
*
Posts: 10


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2011, 01:58:48 PM »

ELM327 Results

ATZ
ATZ

ELM327 v1.0a

>atrv
atrv
11.8V

>atsp 0
atsp 0
OK

>0100
0100
41 00 BE 1F B8 10
41 00 BE 1F B8 10

>010c
010c
41 0C 00 00
41 0C 00 00

>011c
011c
41 1C 01
41 1C 01

>ATDP
ATDP
AUTO, SAE J1850 PWM

>atdpn
atdpn
A1

>



OBDLink SX Results

ATZ
ATZ

ELM327 v1.3a

>atrv
atrv
12.1V

>atsp A1
atsp A1
OK

>0100
0100
SEARCHING...
UNABLE TO CONNECT

>010c
010c
SEARCHING...
UNABLE TO CONNECT

>




Still no joy,, back to you :-)

Logged
Vitaliy
ScanTool.net Staff
Veteran
*
Posts: 2243

Forum Cop


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2011, 11:43:59 PM »

Perfect, thank you. Please email sales@scantool.net with your order information, and ask them to ship you another OBDLink SX (keep the one you've got), and a Y-cable.

"FB ERROR" may be caused by an issue with the hardware, or by Aston Martin's non-compliance with the J1850 PWM spec (ELM327 may not be as stringent about enforcing the timings). If the new SX has the same issue as your current one, we'll roll out a firmware update.

Thank you for your patience.

Vitaliy
Logged

Need to decode a diagnostic trouble code? Try DTCSearch.com
user_unknown
Newbie
*
Posts: 10


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: October 24, 2011, 10:47:34 AM »

Thank you I will do as you suggest.

I bought the OBDLink SX via scantool-direct.co.uk

I will attach the original invoice email so you have the full info.

So I assume when the replacement SX arrives, I run the same comparison tests and then post the results?

Thanks again.

Logged
Vitaliy
ScanTool.net Staff
Veteran
*
Posts: 2243

Forum Cop


View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: October 24, 2011, 12:27:18 PM »

Thank you I will do as you suggest.

I bought the OBDLink SX via scantool-direct.co.uk

I will attach the original invoice email so you have the full info.

That works.

Quote
So I assume when the replacement SX arrives, I run the same comparison tests and then post the results?

Correct.

Logged

Need to decode a diagnostic trouble code? Try DTCSearch.com
Vitaliy
ScanTool.net Staff
Veteran
*
Posts: 2243

Forum Cop


View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: October 24, 2011, 12:38:12 PM »

Thank you I will do as you suggest.

I bought the OBDLink SX via scantool-direct.co.uk

I will attach the original invoice email so you have the full info.

So I assume when the replacement SX arrives, I run the same comparison tests and then post the results?

Thanks again.

While you wait for the second SX, could you perform another test?

ATSP1
ATH1
ATMA

Please make sure ignition is on. If you see a flood of messages, hit any key to stop it.

Thank you,

Vitaliy
Logged

Need to decode a diagnostic trouble code? Try DTCSearch.com
user_unknown
Newbie
*
Posts: 10


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: October 25, 2011, 12:40:08 PM »

I ran the extra tests on both units in case of any differences...

ELM327

>atsp1
atsp1
OK

>ath1
ath1
OK

>atma
atma
81 09 10 22 00 00 18 CA 00 00 4C
A1 1B 10 25 00 00 00 00 00 BD
81 09 10 22 00 00 18 CA 00 00 4C
A1 1B 10 25 00 00 00 00 00 BD
81 09 10 22 00 00 18 CA 00 00 4C
A1 1B 10 25 00 00 00 00 00 BD
81 09 10 22 00 00 18 CA 00 00 4C
A1 1B 10 25 00 00 00 00 00 BD
etc.. it looped these until

81 09 10 22 00 00 18 CA 00 00 4C
A1 1B 10 25 00 00 00 00 00 BD
BUFFER FULL

>


OBDLink SX

>atsp1
atsp1
OK

>ath1
ath1
OK

>atma
atma
81 09 10 22 00 00 18 CA 00 00 4C
A1 1B 10 25 00 00 00 00 00 BD
81 09 10 22 00 00 18 CA 00 00 4C
A1 1B 10 25 00 00 00 00 00 BD
81 09 10 22 00 00 18 CA 00 00 4C
A1 1B 10 25 00 00 00 00 00 BD
81 09 10 22 00 00 18 CA 00 00 4C
A1 1B 10 25 00 00 00 00 00 BD
81 09 10 22 00 00 18 CA 00 00 4C
A1 1B 10 25 00 00 00 00 00 BD
etc... until I stopped the test

>0100
0100
FB ERROR

>



As you can see I also tried the 0100 command after the test hoping it might be talking.


over to you :-)


Logged
Vitaliy
ScanTool.net Staff
Veteran
*
Posts: 2243

Forum Cop


View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: October 25, 2011, 01:52:56 PM »

I ran the extra tests on both units in case of any differences...

ELM327

>atsp1
atsp1
OK

>ath1
ath1
OK

>atma
atma
81 09 10 22 00 00 18 CA 00 00 4C
A1 1B 10 25 00 00 00 00 00 BD
81 09 10 22 00 00 18 CA 00 00 4C
A1 1B 10 25 00 00 00 00 00 BD
81 09 10 22 00 00 18 CA 00 00 4C
A1 1B 10 25 00 00 00 00 00 BD
81 09 10 22 00 00 18 CA 00 00 4C
A1 1B 10 25 00 00 00 00 00 BD
etc.. it looped these until

81 09 10 22 00 00 18 CA 00 00 4C
A1 1B 10 25 00 00 00 00 00 BD
BUFFER FULL

>


OBDLink SX

>atsp1
atsp1
OK

>ath1
ath1
OK

>atma
atma
81 09 10 22 00 00 18 CA 00 00 4C
A1 1B 10 25 00 00 00 00 00 BD
81 09 10 22 00 00 18 CA 00 00 4C
A1 1B 10 25 00 00 00 00 00 BD
81 09 10 22 00 00 18 CA 00 00 4C
A1 1B 10 25 00 00 00 00 00 BD
81 09 10 22 00 00 18 CA 00 00 4C
A1 1B 10 25 00 00 00 00 00 BD
81 09 10 22 00 00 18 CA 00 00 4C
A1 1B 10 25 00 00 00 00 00 BD
etc... until I stopped the test

>0100
0100
FB ERROR

>



As you can see I also tried the 0100 command after the test hoping it might be talking.


over to you :-)


Thank you very much. The test revealed that:

1. Your OBD bus is very busy.
2. SX receiver is OK.

If you you would like to do more testing while the 2nd unit is en route, we can:

1. Let's check the firmware and hardware versions:

STI
STDI

2. Use the attached file to reflash the unit with 2.1.1 firmware.

3. Try connecting again:

ATSP 1
010C

4. If you have access to a different car, I would repeat the test above to see if you still get FB ERROR, or NO DATA. FB ERROR on a different vehicle would indicate a hardware problem:

ATRV
ATSP 1
010C

The first command is there to verify that the unit is receiving power from the DLC.

Vitaliy

* obdlink_sx-2.1.1.zip (248.52 KB - downloaded 55 times.)
« Last Edit: October 25, 2011, 02:19:09 PM by Vitaliy » Logged

Need to decode a diagnostic trouble code? Try DTCSearch.com
user_unknown
Newbie
*
Posts: 10


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: October 26, 2011, 09:12:54 AM »

sti
sti
STN1130 v2.1.1

>stdi
stdi
OBDLink SX r2.2

>atsp1
atsp1
OK

>010c
010c
FB ERROR

>atrv
atrv
13.1V


The above results were identical before and after upgrading the Firmware (same version).

I then ran some more commands just to provide more insight...

>atma
atma
SEARCHING
80 54 00
0E 00 5B 00 00 00 00
CA 18 00 00 62 00 06 00
2A 00 60 00 00 00 00 00
00 FC 7A 33 64 01 80 33
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
20 4C 00 00 00 47 81 01
00 4C 00
0E 00 5B 00 00 00 00
CA 18 00 00 62 00 06 00
2A 00 60 00 00 00 00 00
00 FC 7A 33 64 01 80 33
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
80 54 00
0E 00 5B 00 00 00 00
CA 18 00 00 62 00 06 00
2A 00 60 00 00 00 00 00
00 FC 7A 33 64 01 80 33
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
1A
1A
etc...... it ran through this cycle until stopped.

I then ran the following....

>ath1
ath1
OK

>atma
atma
111 2D 00 60 00 00 00 00 00
102 CA 18 00 00 62 00 09 00 <DATA ERROR
100 00 FC 77 33 64 01 80 33
104 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
112 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
110 20 4C 00 00 00 47 81 01
0FA 00 4C 00
12C 0E 00 5B 00 00 00 00 00 <DATA ERROR
102 CA 18 00 00 62 00 09 00 <DATA ERROR
100 00 FC 77 33 64 01 80 33
114 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
104 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
12C 0E 00 5B 00 00 00 00 00 <DATA ERROR
115 C0 54 00 <DATA ERROR
111 2D 00 60 00 00 00 00 00
102 CA 18 00 00 62 00 09 00 <DATA ERROR
100 00 FC 77 33 64 01 80 33
7D0 1A <DATA ERROR
7D4 1A <DATA ERROR
etc.... producing as above but sometimes in random order until BUFFER FULL

>

I will try it on a different vehicle in due course.

Logged
Vitaliy
ScanTool.net Staff
Veteran
*
Posts: 2243

Forum Cop


View Profile WWW
« Reply #11 on: October 27, 2011, 03:52:39 PM »

sti
sti
STN1130 v2.1.1

>stdi
stdi
OBDLink SX r2.2

>atsp1
atsp1
OK

>010c
010c
FB ERROR

>atrv
atrv
13.1V


The above results were identical before and after upgrading the Firmware (same version).

I then ran some more commands just to provide more insight...

>atma
atma
SEARCHING
80 54 00
0E 00 5B 00 00 00 00
CA 18 00 00 62 00 06 00
2A 00 60 00 00 00 00 00
00 FC 7A 33 64 01 80 33
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
20 4C 00 00 00 47 81 01
00 4C 00
0E 00 5B 00 00 00 00
CA 18 00 00 62 00 06 00
2A 00 60 00 00 00 00 00
00 FC 7A 33 64 01 80 33
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
80 54 00
0E 00 5B 00 00 00 00
CA 18 00 00 62 00 06 00
2A 00 60 00 00 00 00 00
00 FC 7A 33 64 01 80 33
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
1A
1A
etc...... it ran through this cycle until stopped.

This was your PWM traffic.

Quote
I then ran the following....

>ath1
ath1
OK

>atma
atma
111 2D 00 60 00 00 00 00 00
102 CA 18 00 00 62 00 09 00 <DATA ERROR
100 00 FC 77 33 64 01 80 33
104 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
112 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
110 20 4C 00 00 00 47 81 01
0FA 00 4C 00
12C 0E 00 5B 00 00 00 00 00 <DATA ERROR
102 CA 18 00 00 62 00 09 00 <DATA ERROR
100 00 FC 77 33 64 01 80 33
114 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
104 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
12C 0E 00 5B 00 00 00 00 00 <DATA ERROR
115 C0 54 00 <DATA ERROR
111 2D 00 60 00 00 00 00 00
102 CA 18 00 00 62 00 09 00 <DATA ERROR
100 00 FC 77 33 64 01 80 33
7D0 1A <DATA ERROR
7D4 1A <DATA ERROR
etc.... producing as above but sometimes in random order until BUFFER FULL

>

Congratulations, you discovered that your vehicle also has an 11-bit CAN bus. Smiley

UPDATE: The <DATA ERRORs are not real, you see them because the protocol is being detected as "legislated CAN" (ISO 15765-4), while the actual messages are "raw CAN" (ISO 11898).

Quote
I will try it on a different vehicle in due course.

Is your replacement unit already on its way?

Vitaliy
Logged

Need to decode a diagnostic trouble code? Try DTCSearch.com
user_unknown
Newbie
*
Posts: 10


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: October 27, 2011, 04:07:56 PM »

Yes the car does have a CAN data link which is on pins 6 and 14.

With the J1850 PWM on pins 2 and 10.

I understand the generic OBD2 data is on 2 and 10 (J1850 PWM) and some further Aston  Martin specific data regarding the security systems, AB, SRS etc are produced on the CAN Link.

I assume that the data on the CAN bus is Aston Specific and will require specific codes to be read.

As a thought, could it be the CAN creating the problems and causing the J1850 data to be messed up?

I can easily pull a pin or two on the OBD connector on the car and see if it clears up?

I also assume that when set to ATSP 1, the CAN should technically be ignored, but who knows???

I had an email from ScanTool about the request having been submitted to shipping, but nothing further.

I assume they have not yet been shipped as I have no tracking number.


Just let me know if there is anything else I can test out with the current kit in hand.

Logged
Vitaliy
ScanTool.net Staff
Veteran
*
Posts: 2243

Forum Cop


View Profile WWW
« Reply #13 on: October 27, 2011, 05:21:47 PM »

Yes the car does have a CAN data link which is on pins 6 and 14.

With the J1850 PWM on pins 2 and 10.

I understand the generic OBD2 data is on 2 and 10 (J1850 PWM) and some further Aston  Martin specific data regarding the security systems, AB, SRS etc are produced on the CAN Link.

I assume that the data on the CAN bus is Aston Specific and will require specific codes to be read.

Correct on both accounts. Some people make it a hobby, figuring out what the messages mean. You may have live parameters, odometer readings, door lock, etc., messages flying on the CAN bus.


Quote
As a thought, could it be the CAN creating the problems and causing the J1850 data to be messed up?

No way. The drivers are completely separate. "FB ERROR" on PWM means that SX tried to transmit on the bus, but didn't see the signal changing on its receiver. If the replacement unit works, we'll know that the transmitter was bad (and one of our engineers is going to have fun figuring out how the unit could pass our QA tests).


Quote
I had an email from ScanTool about the request having been submitted to shipping, but nothing further.

I assume they have not yet been shipped as I have no tracking number.

Please email Sales, and ask for a status update. It should have been shipped by now.


Quote
Just let me know if there is anything else I can test out with the current kit in hand.

Sorry, can't think of anything else (except for testing on a non-PWM vehicle). You did everything I asked, and then some. We have the problem narrowed down to two places: bad transmitter hardware, or non-compliant J1850 network. Replacement should fix the former, a firmware change (further relaxing the timing requirements) can fix the latter.

Thank you again for your efforts.

Vitaliy
Logged

Need to decode a diagnostic trouble code? Try DTCSearch.com
user_unknown
Newbie
*
Posts: 10


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: October 27, 2011, 05:34:50 PM »

Just some added info...

Other owners of Aston's make use of various ELM devices and one I know of uses the Autoenginuity tool and software.

These all talk perfectly well to the Aston's of varying years, much like my older V1 ELM scanner does.

With that in mind I would think the J1850 is fairly standardised but as you suspect, maybe the timings are possibly outside the range the OBDLink SX can deal with at this time. (something a firmware update could easily fix).

I noted there are some AT commands that can alter the timing or latency. Would these be worth a try?

AT PP SV : for example

If it would help you guys out I have two documents detailing OBD2 data for both Aston Martin's and Ford's of later years, it doesn't exactly relate to my model and year, however they might help throw some light on the subject.

There is a lot of data and information in the two PDF documents which are quite some pages long.

I won't make them public, but I can send them direct via email if you wish.

They might not help my situation but could certainly help others should they shed any light on the inner OBD workings of these vehicles.




Logged
Pages: [1] 2 Go Up Print 
ScanTool.net Forum  |  Hardware  |  OBDLink SX  |  Topic: OBDLink SX will not connect - ever! « previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.8 | SMF © 2006-2008, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!